Support Center

What is a Data Room

Last updated September 15, 2016

The Virtual Data Room feature offers a heightened level of Workspace security. When Data Room is enabled, many collaboration features are automatically restricted or disabled throughout the Workspace.

The following features are all disabled* to ensure invited users are not able to see each other's activity:

  • Comments
  • Tasks
  • Activity
  • Dashboard


Users in the Data Room at the Moderator and Administrator levels are the only users with the ability to view the Data Rooms activity. 

*Messages may also be deactivated for further security. Note: Leaving messages enabled allows all messages to be viewed by all users invited to the data room. Users only invited to individual folders or files within the data room will not see messages. Only Creator and above roles can post new messages.

 

Creating a New Data Room


A Data Room can be created either during the Create A Workspace process, or by converting an already exiting Workspace to a Data Room within the Workspace Settings. 

To create a new data room, click "Create a Workspace" at the top right side of the screen. Enter a name for the data room then click the "Data Room" check box, then click "Create". You will be brought into your new data room.

Converting a Workspace to a Data Room


To convert an already existing Workspace into a virtual data room, click on the Settings icon next to the name of the Workspace. 
 

Then, click Security.

Then, click the box next to Enable Data Room Mode, then click Save.
‚Äč

All of the previously available collaboration features associated with the Workspace have been disabled automatically. 

 

Still need help? Contact us directly at (877) 644-7774 or