Support Center

Using Secure Links (Providing Access to Guest Users)

Last updated September 15, 2016

Secure links provide direct access to any folder or file without requiring a Onehub account. This is useful in situations where you want to share with a large group of people and knowing who is viewing and/or downloading a file is not important. Activity that occurs when someone is accessing a file or folder via a secure link will be attributed to a Guest User. The guest's IP address will be shown in activity as well as Document Watermarks if they are enabled.


Enabling/Disabling

Administrators and Moderators can enable and share secure links. Clicking the link icon will automatically enable it, and display a dialog where you can copy the link and change its settings. In the dialog, clicking the green Enabled status will toggle it off again.



Sharing

The link dialog provides two options for sharing. You can either copy the link (to paste it into your own email or post it on your website) or you can email it directly from the workspace. There is also a reset button that immediately expires the link, regenerates the URL, and resets all of the settings back to default.


 

Settings

Some additional settings are provided on the Business edition. Click the gear in the bottom right to edit the link properties. This allows you to:
  • Specify a password that will be required before the folder or file can be accessed.
  • Choose to set an expiration date so the link will only be accessible for a limited period of time.
  • Set the role that the guest will have when accessing the folder or file.

Changing the role allows you to do things like make the item read only, or allow guests to upload to a folder.

Still need help? Contact us directly at (877) 644-7774 or