Support Center

Understanding Roles & Permissions

Last updated August 28, 2013

Onehub Workspaces uses a role-based permission system to control access to files and information. The role is set when the user is invited and can be changed at any time by an Administrator or Moderator. This article describes the roles available and the level of access they provide.

 

Available Roles


Note: All roles inherit the permissions of the roles below them.

 
  • Administrator

    Can edit the Workspace pages, modify the logo and colors, and modify the Workspace security settings.

  • Moderator

    Can upload, edit and delete any file or folder. Can invite other users to the Workspace, invite users to a file and folder, create secure links, and edit all comments in the Workspace.

  • Collaborator

    Can upload, edit and delete any file or folder. Cannot invite users to the Workspace, files, or folders. Cannot create secure links or edit other user's comments. Useful to allow users to use Onehub Sync without letting them invite new users.

  • Creator

    Can view previews, print, and download files. Can upload files to a folder or Workspace and delete folders and files they created. Can view and add comments to files, folders and messages. Can post Messages to a Workspace.

  • Downloader

    Can view previews, print and download files. Cannot view or add comments to items.

  • Printer

    Can view previews and print but cannot download files. Cannot view or add comments to items.

  • Viewer

    Can view previews of files but cannot print or download files. Cannot view or add comments to items.

Detailed Role Permissions


Workspaces
  Viewer Printer Downloader Creator Collaborator Moderator Administrator
Receive Activity and Notifications       Yes* Yes* Yes Yes
Invite and Manage Users           Yes Yes
Edit Pages and Reorder             Yes
Edit Type             Yes
Edit Colors             Yes
Edit Logo             Yes
Dashboards
  Viewer Printer Downloader Creator Collaborator Moderator Administrator
View Dashboard Page Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
View Users Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
View Activity       Yes Yes Yes Yes
Edit Welcome Message             Yes
Edit Image             Yes
Edit Links             Yes
Files
  Viewer Printer Downloader Creator Collaborator Moderator Administrator
Preview Files Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Print File Previews   Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Download Files     Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
View and Create Comments       Yes Yes Yes Yes
Upload Files       Yes Yes Yes Yes
Create Folders       Yes Yes Yes Yes
Edit and Delete Owned Files       Yes Yes Yes Yes
Move and Copy Owned Files       Yes Yes Yes Yes
View File History (Audit Trail)         Yes Yes Yes
Edit and Delete All Folders and Files         Yes Yes Yes
Move and Copy All Folders and Files         Yes Yes Yes
Enable and Edit Secure Links           Yes Yes
Invite Users to Folders and Files           Yes Yes
Delete Comments           Yes Yes
Messages
  Viewer Printer Downloader Creator Collaborator Moderator Administrator
View Messages Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
View and Create Comments       Yes Yes Yes Yes
Post Messages       Yes Yes Yes Yes
Delete Owned Messages       Yes Yes Yes Yes
Delete All Messages           Yes Yes
Delete Comments           Yes Yes

* Except when data room is enabled.


Advanced Tip:

To test the roles in your Workspace, click the glasses icon to the right of the roles drop-down when viewing the share list. The Onehub bar will be replaced with a message telling you what role you are previewing as. Clicking the "X" icon on the far right of this bar will revert you back to your normal role.

Still need help? Contact us directly at (877) 644-7774 or